epguides.com & TVmaze present


(a Titles & Air Dates Guide)

Last updated: Wed, 10 Jan 2024 1:00
Cast Photo
A monk and his three guardians travel west from China to India to fetch the Buddhist scriptures that will bring peace to the world. Based on the Chinese folktale Journey to the West.
Show Details:
Start date: Oct 1978
End date: May 1980
Status: cancelled/ended
Network(s): Nippon (JP)
Run time:
Episodes: 52 eps
Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Episode list & details from:  TVmaze • 
Episode # Original
Air Date
Season 1
1.1-1 01 Oct 78Monkey Goes Wild About Heaven
2.1-2 08 Oct 78Monkey Turns Nursemaid
3.1-3 15 Oct 78The Great Journey Begins
4.1-4 22 Oct 78Monkey Swallows the Universe
5.1-5 29 Oct 78The Power of Youth
6.1-6 05 Nov 78Even Monsters Can Be People
7.1-7 12 Nov 78The Beginning of Wisdom
8.1-8 19 Nov 78Pigsy Woos a Widow
9.1-9 26 Nov 78What Monkey Calls the Dog-Woman
10.1-1003 Dec 78Pigsy's in the Well
11.1-1110 Dec 78The Difference Between Night & Day
12.1-1217 Dec 78Pearls Before Swine
13.1-1324 Dec 78The Minx and the Slug
14.1-1407 Jan 79Catfish, Saint and the Shape-Changer
15.1-1514 Jan 79Monkey Meets the Demon Digger
16.1-1621 Jan 79The Most Monstrous Monster
17.1-1728 Jan 79Truth and the Grey Gloves Devil
18.1-1804 Feb 79Land for the Locusts
19.1-1911 Feb 79The Vampire Master
20.1-2018 Feb 79Outrageous Coincidences
21.1-2125 Feb 79Pigsy, King and God
22.1-2204 Mar 79Village of the Undead
23.1-2311 Mar 79Two Little Blessings
24.1-2418 Mar 79The Fires of Jealousy
25.1-2525 Mar 79The Country of Nightmares
26.1-2601 Apr 79The End of the Way
Season 2
27.2-1 11 Nov 79Pigsy's Ten Thousand Ladies
28.2-2 18 Nov 79The Dogs of Death
29.2-3 25 Nov 79You Win Some, You Lose Some
30.2-4 02 Dec 79Pigsy Learns a Lesson
31.2-5 09 Dec 79The Land with Two Suns
32.2-6 16 Dec 79The House of the Evil Spirit
33.2-7 23 Dec 79Am I Dreaming?
34.2-8 30 Dec 79The Tormented Emperor
35.2-9 07 Jan 80Between Heaven and Hell
36.2-1013 Jan 80The Foolish Philosopher
37.2-1120 Jan 80Who Am I?
38.2-1227 Jan 80What is Wisdom?
39.2-1303 Feb 80The Fountain of Youth
40.2-1410 Feb 80Better the Demon You Know
41.2-1517 Feb 80A Shadow So Huge
42.2-1624 Feb 80Keep on Dancing
43.2-1702 Mar 80Give and Take
44.2-1809 Mar 80Such a Nice Monster
45.2-1916 Mar 80The Fake Pilgrims
46.2-2028 Mar 80Pretty as a Picture
47.2-2130 Mar 80Mothers
48.2-2206 Apr 80The Tenacious Tomboy
49.2-2313 Apr 80Stoned
50.2-2420 Apr 80Hungry Like the Wolf
51.2-2527 Apr 80Monkey's Yearning
52.2-2604 May 80At the Top of the Mountain
Back to TOP