epguides.com & TVmaze present

That's Life (1998)

(a Titles & Air Dates Guide)

Last updated: Sun, 21 Jun 2020 -1:00
Cast Photo
Show Details:
Start date: Mar 1998
End date: Apr 1998
Status: cancelled/ended
Network(s): ABC (US)
Run time: 30 min
Episodes: 6 eps
Genre(s): Comedy
Episode list & details from:  TVmaze •  TV.com
Episode # Original
Air Date
Season 1
1.1-1 10 Mar 98The First One
2.1-2 17 Mar 98The Second One, Believe It or Not
3.1-3 24 Mar 98Actually, the Third One
4.1-4 31 Mar 9894 to Syndication
5.1-5 07 Apr 98The Easter Story
6.1-6 The Sixth One to Air
Back to TOP

by Jeff Cohen:

The show was pulled despite following HOME IMPROVEMENT, at the time ABC's number one sitcom, because it only held 33 percent of the lead-in audience.

To hype the series, Gerry appeared on THE TONIGHT SHOW before the airing of the second episode and proposed to his long-time girlfriend, Kathleen (she accepted). It didn't do anything to the ratings and the show was a goner.

Kevin James' KING OF QUEENS, essentially the same program with the father-in-law moving in instead of the sister-in-law and nephew, premiered the following spring and became a hit. This was attributed to the producers dropping Jack Carter as the father-in-law and replacing him
with Jerry Stiller from the just-finished SEINFELD.

Ironically, Gerry signed a development deal with Fox after the cancellation of this show, and was working on his second series. But while filming an episode of ABC's FANTASY ISLAND in Hawaii, he was stricken with spiral meningitis. Flown back to the mainland, Gerry succumbed to the sudden illness and he passed away.